New X1d 50c decision

Previous topic - Next topic

colonel

Hi, I am new to medium format and Hasselblad, so apologies if asking newbie questions, and also if it is a bit of a ramble, as my thoughts are often confused  :D

My main photography type is daily life, landscape/architecture and travel.

I like "people in context", so I rarely shoot people on their own, or buildings/scenery on its own. It is the person contrasting against the environment that I like.

I am purely amateur and so it is very much a hobby I enjoy and find relaxing, as well as bringing back memories of where I have been.

I typically shoot Leica M, with alot of film and some digital. I stray into the Q range occasionally and have shot with Sony A7 and Fuji X series as well. I always come back to Leica M, as I find the process gives me more keepers. I am not a gun photographer and might take a couple of pictures to increase changes of the right expression, but mostly think about photos before pressing the button.

"Unless a subject interests me, I'll pass it over and save my film for better things." - Harold Feinstein

I mention this as when I shoot in an urban environment, I am find autofocus can be destructive, e.g. when framing a scene and the "wrong" person passes through before the subject, the AF can pick them up. I don't do the type of photograph where I see an expression and raise the camera to instantly take a photo. I find this to be a bit impossible and random. I always like to be in position "before the photo occurs" - if that makes sense.

As an example of the way I work, when I pass a scene I want, when the appropriate person is about to pass through, I frame the scene, focus on the point I need to, and then wait for them to pass into the frame. With MF this is easy, with AF I would aim the camera at a point of the same distance, hold focus, reframe, and wait (albeit the wait is a few seconds). I aim to use both techniques with the x1d.