Photoshop and big files.

Previous topic - Next topic

sbozic

Hi!
I used to have a 2018 Macbook Pro Intel i9 with 32 gig of RAM and 1 TB of storage. I then bought a MacbookPro M3 Max with 64 gigs of RAM and 2 TB of storage because I wanted a faster workflow. I can´t say that I feel much difference in speed. My files are big, 2-5 gig in size and it takes 90sec to 120sec to save a file and gradients take forever. There are 5-15 layers. I understand that the files are heavy, but one would think that a new ridiculous expensive computer would speed things up quite a lot but, naaaah. Is Photoshop so bad at using the full potential of the hardware? How is your workflow performance ?

Whitten

I'm no computer expert but I think processor and RAM are the biggest factors in operational speed, not the storage. I think 64gb is the minimum RAM for a lot of the more complex programs these days. Maybe the M3 is not as well developed for photographic work as the M1 or M2? I though I saw somewhere someone recommending not upgrading to M3 from M2 Mac?

Patrick CM

So I have my home network at a higher speed as the files are so big! My network runs at 10Gbps.

Hudson Henry has a great Video on his setup.
Most networks at 1Gbps.

Note too, the Ethernet port on Mac's are also 1Gbps....some newer ones are at 10Gbps. I had to get a 10Gbps Thunderbolt4/Ethernet adaptor.

I really notice the speed increase.

NickT

Quote from: sbozic on March 15, 2024, 10:10:28 AMHi!
I used to have a 2018 Macbook Pro Intel i9 with 32 gig of RAM and 1 TB of storage. I then bought a MacbookPro M3 Max with 64 gigs of RAM and 2 TB of storage because I wanted a faster workflow. I can´t say that I feel much difference in speed. My files are big, 2-5 gig in size and it takes 90sec to 120sec to save a file and gradients take forever. There are 5-15 layers.
I'm curious as to why your files are so big. What are the pixel dimensions of these files?
Nick-T typing at you from Flexframe's secret location under a Volcano