Summary of current Hasselblad XCD lens ranges

Previous topic - Next topic

colonel

Hi, I am new to the Hasselblad universe and am currently shooting with a XCD 45mm f3.5 and x1d ii. This combination is sublime and I can't fault the lens. It is one of the best lens I have every used, albeit with an AF speed and shutter noise slightly higher then I am used to. Although the AF is far superior to my M10  ;)

I was looking at the lenses in general across the range and deciding my next step

Longer lens will either be 55mm f2.5 or 65mm f2.8
Shorter lens will either be 28mm f4 or 30mm f3.5

I have been reading extensively about the lenses, both from users and from reviews

I am postulating the following rough round up given that in general, all these lenses are excellent, and the differences are more design trade offs and mechanical.

There are broadly three range designs: P, V and original (mostly 3.5, but with 3.2, 1.9, 4, 2.8, 3.5) - using the original label as I couldn't think of any other.

The P range (namely 28P and 45p) are the lightest and cheapest. They have the slowest autofocus (although the 28 is faster) and the least sharp (again, still very sharp, just the nuance of comparison). Their corners are not the sharpest in the range. There is some report of their colours and micro-contrast also being slightly behind the other lenses. Again, all of this is slight.

The V range are the quietest with the fastest AF of the range when paired with the x2d. They are all very sharp in the centre. I have read that they are not so sharp in the corners.

The original range are the sharpest corner to corner. Their AF speed is between the P and V. Their shutters tend to be the most noisy.

All of the above makes sense in terms of price, and newness. It also kind of justifies all of them being in the range. I think there are trade-offs but not substitutes.