Suggested Workflow

Previous topic - Next topic

kerryX2D

Hi everyone,

Apologies if this has been covered before, but as a new X2D user I'm eager to get going !!

I'm also new to Phocus, and do appreciate it is probably best to ingest files to it first for some work before exporting to Lightroom where I manage my library.

My questions are 1.  Can someone recommend a good online resource for learning Phocus ?

2.  Can you suggest a simplified workflow of what adjustments I definitely should be using Phocus for and what I can still do in LR which I am more familiar with ?

TIA

NickT

Kerry here's my workflow for what it's worth.
Most of my work is tethered into Phocus but importing gives the same starting point. I do any major tonal changes in Phocus as you are working with 16 bits, also some light sharpening and that's about it. I then export 8 bit AdobeRGB to Photoshop for retouching and output sharpening. Those files are delivered to clients.

All my delivered files are then synced into Lightroom so I can catalogue then and also easily export multiple sizes for some clients.

For Tutorials look up Karl Taylor on YouTube.

HTH

Nick-T
Nick-T typing at you from Flexframe's secret location under a Volcano

kerryX2D

Thanks Nick , good to hear that.  I'm reluctant to get too bogged down in learning Phocus at an in-depth level but would still like to get the best out of the files !

JCM-Photos

My 3FR raw files are imported in Phocus as fff raw files, optimized in Hasselblad RGB or L* color space, with Engine 1 for portraits, engine 3 for all other, no sharpening, optimized fff files are saved and exported as 16 bit TIFF, 3FR files are discarded.

16 bit TIFF's are opened in Affinity Photo (could also be Photoshop) for further treatments. When extensive treatment has been done they are saved in an "afphoto" (at this point the Phocus TIFF file can be discarded).