Hasselblad as a Scanner

Previous topic - Next topic

mikaelo67

Hi,

I just bought myself a Negative Supply scanning kit and thought I would use it with either my 907x or my X2D to scan 6x6 negatives from my analog Hassys. Since the tethered live view don't work yet on the X2D I plan to use it with my 907x to start with.

I have never done "DSLR" scanning before and always used my Epson scanner to do this. Results have been good, but the time it takes is longer than I wish. After looking at some youtube videos I thought I would give this a try.

Has anyone here any experience from this? I have mounted my 907x and the 120 zoom. The distance between the slide holder and the lens is sufficient to get focus.
But can anyone give me some tips on aperture, ISO and shutter speed. What is really the best practice here? Should I scan directly in to Lightroom or should I go by Phocus?

I have seen that most people are using Negative Labs Pro software to tweak and finish the scans. I have always only used Lightroom and PS. I mostly shoot B/W, but also some color here and there. But before I invest in a 35mm and 4x5 holder as well, I thought I would give this a go on my 6x6's.

All and any tips on How To and best practices work flows are greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. // Mikael

tenmangu81

I am also interested, as I bought a Negative supply device for "scanning" my 135 negatives and slides, that I intend to use with my X1D II. For my 6x6 films, my Epson scanner is not that bad, a little bit slow, though.
Robert

MGrayson

The Negative Supply stuff is good .. except for their stands. Much too flimsy for anything heavier than a Sony mirrorless. Something heavy enough, e.g., Kaiser, will be over $400 for the stand alone. I've been getting by with a heavy tripod and using the mirror trick to get the camera perpendicular to the film.

fh29

I use a Negative Supply setup and its 5x7 light source to scan MF and LF films with mirrorless bodies.