Perspective correction

Previous topic - Next topic

GDB

Hi everybody !

I am new to this most interesting forum, and I am now enjoying the discovery of my new Hasselblad H1D II and the 21mm f/4... It takes time !

I would like to gather explanations and opinions from more experimented photographers than I am about perspective correction.

When I was young and using Nikon gear, I once possessed the 35mm PC-NIKKOR, a quite new type of lens at that time (ca 1972). Then came the digital photography, and many other PC lenses, including the Hasselblad HTS system and perspective correction in RAW processing softwares.

So what are the differences in perspective corrections, or more precisely of correction of architecture photography between
- large format tilt and shift cameras like Linhof, Alpa or others
- Perspective correction lenses
- and post-processing in Phocus, Capture One, DxO and other through keystone correction ?

Let's consider shooting a cathedral like Notre-Dame de Paris, which is interesting because the mais shape of the building is rectangular although both towers are not quite symmetrical, the northern tower being a little wider than the southern. The "Rosace" in the middle is strictly circular.

I have no experience of large format tilt and shift results, and I never took a picture of this cathedral with the PC-Nikkor. But when I shoot the cathedral with a wide angle, and post-process it on the computer, I can correct the perspective of the towers with the keystone command, but the Rosace is no longer strictly circular. So you must use a slider called "aspect" to try to correct this default. But (to me) it is not a true perspective correction.

In other words, what is the solution to shoot this cathedral as if I used a tripod high enough, or some kind of elevator (LOL) to reach the level of the center of the Rosace and shoot from this point ?

Your comments shall be very greatly appreciated

GĂ©rard

brian

Welcome Gerard to the Forum