X1D Problems, Shutter release and flash misfire

Previous topic - Next topic

tkhalloran

I had one of the worst photographic day I have ever had while trying to photograph a Latin Band in my local area.  I recently was delivered my X1D and am still getting used to it but felt that I had learned to setup and use the camera well enough to use it on one of my photo shoots.  I used both available light and flash fill.  I generally mount my remote flash trigger on the hot shoe and leave it there during the whole shoot even when not using the flash.  I turn off the remote trigger and then back on when needed.  This always worked on my Nikon D800.  The remote trigger is a Cheetahstand X1 (Godox) which triggers a Cheetahstand (Godox) 360 flash.  I have been using this combination for many months with no misfires on my D800.  I also only use manual flash mode with no TTL.  I also only use manual mode for shutter and f/stop settings.  For the X1D I use manual focus and use the AF-D button to auto focus then reframe and take the picture. 
During this photo shoot the camera started to not work every time I pressed the shutter.  Sometimes it would make the exposure and sometimes I had to press the shutter three or four times before it made the exposure.  Also, the flash would often not fire.  I could not absolutely verify this but I also often thought that the camera was not syncing with the flash correctly when it did fire.  For the most part my shutter speeds were between 100th and a 1000th of a second.  My f/stops were generally f/4 to f/11 and ISO was 200 to 3200.  I disabled all of the flash related selections in the camera menu to make sure the camera was not waiting for the flash to recharge.

The shutter release problem happens even without the remote trigger mounted on the camera.