XID Multiple Focus Points

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael H. Cothran

Can anyone here confirm whether or not the XID now has multiple focus points or not? And if so, does it include touch focusing on the LCD screen? Hasselblad's website makes no mention of this yet.

tkhalloran

I am new to my X1D but have tried what you asked. It depends what you mean by multiple focus points.  The X1D has the ability to select a focus point or box  any where on the screen in predetermined rows and columns.  I haven't been able to touch the screen to make it auto focus though.  I have to push the AF_D button or half press the shutter to make it auto focus.

Michael H. Cothran

Thanks for your response. How do you select from the various focus points?

tkhalloran

To select the various focus points press and hold the MF/AF button on top of the camera.  All of the focus points possible will be displayed.  They will be displayed on the rear screen and you can tap the screen to select one then depress the MF/AF button again and it will be done.  You can also do all through the EVF and use the thumb wheels to move to different AF points if you put your eye to the EVF. .

Michael H. Cothran

Thank you again. I finally got through to the new Regional Sales Rep for Tennessee. We had a conversation about it. He also states 35 points, which is certainly better than only one, but not nearly as good as that of the newly announced Fuji GFX-50S camera. I've owned Hasselblad cameras now for 45 years, and would sure like to continue with the brand through the rest of my photographic career. But the Fuji GFX-50S is certainly a potential alternate choice. The GFS has a dedicated joy stick on the back for moving the focus point, plus you can simply touch the rear screen anywhere to focus, plus it has face & eye recognition, plus it also has focus peaking in manual focus mode. As my eyes continue to age, I must rely more and more on focus assistance with my camera.

Greg