My new x1d and x1d ii

Previous topic - Next topic

colonel

Thanks for the advice I received here on the x1d range, and of course the many threads I have read here and elsewhere.

In summary I am an amateur that shoots travel and urban photography, with some landscape and architecture. I have used many types of cameras but gravitate to Leica M, which I use most of the time (although have enjoyed the Q3 recently). I am never sure why, but I get many more keepers with this system. I guess I am a more slow photographer.

Why did I buy medium format ? because I am curious and have never used it before, but always attracted to increasing IQ. Why Hasselblad ? I love the look, feel and build. Guess I am shallow, but need to like the equipment and the process I am using.

I bought an x1d 4116 in lovely black with a 45mm f3.5 lens. The results blew me away. I didn't expect them to be so good, with super clarity and deep colours that need no real editing. The surprising thing is how much better they are then FF cameras I have used before, including 60mp sensors.

With the latest firmware it runs very smoothly, including the well thought out menu system. I love the Swedish (and German) simplicity.

It would be nice to have IBIS, but good technique minimises the need somewhat. This is at 1/8 - a tiny bit blur but pretty great for 50mp:

After reading comments, I was surprised at how "normal" the camera is. The start up time is not amazing but the warm up from standby is not bad. The AF is also not bad at all. Not really missing any photos:

The colour depth is lovely:

The main downside I suppose is that I now have an extra step in editing. I edit the raw file in Phocus first. Just some small changes, but based on advice, I want to keep all color, clarity, exposure, contrast, sharpness and other "whole picture" changes within Phocus.