X2d jpg's

Previous topic - Next topic

tenmangu81

Quote from: boojum on October 23, 2023, 08:47:01 PM
I am surprised at your M9 failures.  I have had one now for about the same length of time with the opposite experience.  And I checked with some folks over on RFF and their experience is the same as mine.  Now you did what you did but had it been me with a camera failing like that, I would have had it repaired.  Of course YMMV

Out of scope, but I had an M9 for almost 3 years, the colours were great, remembering Kodachrome, except that I had to work a lot on them before printing,.... More specifically, the reds were very saturated. B&W were great, anyway !! And JPEGs were awful, this is well known for the first digital Leica cameras. I have no experience with the last ones.
Robert

flash

<snip>

p.s. I shot a pair of M9's (and nothing else) professionally for nearly 3 years. Maybe 120 weddings and 100's of commercial jobs. The jpegs were truly woeful and the auto white balance completely unreliable. As were the cameras. The only way this would have worked for me was if I only outputted b&w. Also, there are pros still shooting film, shooting large format, shooting vintage lenses and shooting 150MP Phase One backs.. So what? We all have to limit ourselves because someone thinks an M9 is the pinnacle of camera evolution? It means nothing as to what someone else is doing versus what I want/need from my gear.

I am surprised at your M9 failures.  I have had one now for about the same length of time with the opposite experience.  And I checked with some folks over on RFF and their experience is the same as mine.  Now you did what you did but had it been me with a camera failing like that, I would have had it repaired.  Of course YMMV