X1D, HC300 lens

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael H. Cothran

Spent a week in Florida at the Paynes Prairie Wildlife Preserve, near Gainesville. Spent most of the time with the HC 300 lens shooting birds and gators. Overall, I was very pleased with the resulting images, but more specifically with the ease of use. I found the Focus Peaking to be ideal, and was able to use my thumb or forefinger on the focusing ring to easily fine tune the shots, while tripod mounted. I have decided that I like the HC lenses better than the Zeiss lenses for ease of use on the X1D. Plus, with the XH adapter, all technical data is retained and displayed. I will continue to use my Zeiss 135 Makro Planar, but will not invest in any more Zeiss lenses. I had planned on a CF 150 lens to round out my "telephoto" group, but have now decided on an HC 150N lens, instead.
Anyway, I'm just getting started on the post processing of my new images, and wanted to share the first one with you. This is a female gator and one of her 15 new babies sunning on her back. This shot, as well as most of my "wildlife" images, is an extreme crop, as the 300, while getting within range of the animals, is still not nearly as effective as the longer lenses on a DSLR, especially with the cropped sensors. But fortunately, the 50 mpix sensor allows extreme cropping without IQ sacrifice.
PS - The vignetting is intentional, and created in post processing.

X1D
HC 300/f4.5 lens (with XH adapter)
Circular Polarizer
1/100 sec @ f8
ISO 100

MomentsForZen

Does the XH adapter restrict you to the electronic shutter? How have you gone with the delay / blackout period after pushing the shutter?

What were you using to adapt your V-series / C/Cf lenses?

... MomentsForZen

Michael H. Cothran