Phocus Rocks!

Previous topic - Next topic

BradP

The subject says it all.

Just a quick positive feedback note for the Hasselblad folks and a user opinion for anyone contemplating using Phocus.  I've been shooting Hasselblad for only about 9 months now (X1D) mostly on landscapes.  I have been using Phocus for that and I knew it was good.  This last week though, I did my once a year community service stint shooting thousands of pics for a nonprofit event.  For raw developers, I used to use Lightroom (and C1, DXO, Aperture, and played around with a number of others), but this time I decided to try out Phocus.  Wow.  Am I impressed. 

Doing so many pictures so quickly really gives me a sense of the sliders and what they do, and that's a good thing I take from this annual ritual into my landscape work.  I'm not sure I can put everything that the sliders do into words (and I'm sure it's not in the manual or elsewhere I've found on the internet, although any links to that would be appreciated), but at least on FFF files it's something far more tailored and better in my view than what Lightroom does to Canon, Sony or Nikon files.   A few highlights:

* I'm particularly impressed with the pleasing and accurate colors (not using color cards) under all types of illuminates and white balance settings and the resulting great skin tones.  That's always been a bugaboo for me. 

* For the first time, I've found some real love for Phocus's highlight recovery slider, which before this week I had thought was pretty weak.  That was wrong.  It just does something different than Lightroom that's very useful even stretched well beyond 25 (my old limit) under certain conditions.  Specifically, I've found that it works nicely not only for blending in slightly blown out highlights, but also to manage color/tone in the highlights even when not blown out -- for example, spots that are too bright because of poor lighting on people's faces.