Has anyone else had this happen?

Previous topic - Next topic

sog1927

I had an "interesting" malfunction occur on my X1D, and I was wondering if anyone had seen anything similar. I took the camera on vacation along with the 30mm and the 90mm and an excessive assortment of CF lenses. The camera had two SanDisk Extreme Pro 256GB SD cards and was set to "backup". At the end of the trip, I decided to shot a short video clip (something I've never done before).

Images imported fine into Phocus.

I went out shooting a little bit this afternoon - every 3FR file shot after the video segment seems to be corrupt. Phocus won't open them. Nothing that uses the Apple RAW library can open them either. The files are definitely *there* - they can be listed and copied just fine - but neither they nor copies of them can be understood by anything I have that knows how to read a .3fr file.

The previous images on the card can still be processed.

Firmware level is 1.21.0, so old firmware shouldn't be an issue.

So, a couple of questions for the community:

1) Has this happened to anyone else?
2) On the off chance that the corruption is just something in the header of the files, I don't suppose there's a reference for the format of 3fr and fff files, is there? (I have been a software engineer since the late 70s and am not the least bit shy about performing binary file surgery with a hex editor). Obviously, I'd work on the copies.

Thanks in advance!

Steve

PS. Never, ever shooting video again.

BillW

I have never shot video and no plans to do so. Perhaps Wade with Hasselblad will read this thread and make a suggestion.
Thanks
Bill

sog1927

Quote from: BillW on June 10, 2018, 12:36:44 AM
I have never shot video and no plans to do so. Perhaps Wade with Hasselblad will read this thread and make a suggestion.

Never done it before either - but I was on vacation and I figured "it's the end of the day, why not shoot a 'home movie' to cap off the day?"