Help me set up a lighting shoot

Previous topic - Next topic

jahn

Hello, I just received my new camera (907x 50c) and I love it, the ergonomics, menu, and clarity. As a former H4D owner, it is a world difference between the two cameras, I think. Anyways, I was wondering if any pro photographer here could help me figure out a lighting set up for my shots. I am a performance artist, and as for right now, I document my work in my studio which is rather small space (8 x 8 f approx) and I have come across with some images of how I would like to document my work. I must say the style is very Scandinavian if I can say that, hard lighting and strong shadows, grainy film look. I imagine more like a screenshot from a film from the 50s. Just this morning I got my daily NYtimes email with almost exact replica of the look I want. (please have a look.) I have purchased some used Mole Richardson Tungsten lights, and also have some really old flash units. Would anyone here have some time to help me?

NickT

So this is a single, fairly hard (Mola?) light source postioned above and slightly to the left of camera based on the catchlights in the eyes. The grainy stuff I would just add using Lightroom or a plugin for Photoshop like Exposure.

Hope that helps!
Nick-T typing at you from Flexframe's secret location under a Volcano

jahn

Quote from: NickT on October 18, 2020, 05:44:00 PM
So this is a single, fairly hard (Mola?) light source postioned above and slightly to the left of camera based on the catchlights in the eyes. The grainy stuff I would just add using Lightroom or a plugin for Photoshop like Exposure.

Hope that helps!
Thank you, will give it a try and will report back!

Stella

Hi Cherry,

If you want to know about lighting people / faces - go on YouTube and look for Lindsay Adler and Gavin Hoey, each of whom have an astonishing selection of 'how-to' videos. They both show you how to further your results with Lightroom and Photoshop too.