HTS - how much tilt

Previous topic - Next topic

giulioz

Hello,

I recently ventured into Hasselblad territory and acquired a H5D-40, three lenses and the HTS. I am a landscape photographer I am mainly interested in having sharp images from back to front. I am using the HTS mainly with the 24mm. My question is how much degree of tilt should I apply considering that I am using a tripod roughly tall 1,75 meters?

Thank you, Giulio

jerome_m

giulioz

Thank you. Shall I focus at one third from the foreground or on the most distant object?

paulgrundy

Hello Giulio,

I recommend you google "Scheimpflug principle" which is what tilting the plane of focus is called. There are lots of diagrams etc. that explain how it works.

Paul
Paul Grundy

jerome_m

Quote from: paulgrundy on June 16, 2015, 11:43:28 PMI recommend you google "Scheimpflug principle" which is what tilting the plane of focus is called. There are lots of diagrams etc. that explain how it works.

From that principle, you'll find out that, for the typical landscape picture, where you want the ground to be sharp from front to end, the tilt angle is defined by atan(f/h), where
-f is the focal length (lens + HTS, so 35m for the 24mm on the HTS) and
-h is the height of your tripod over the ground
It is a simple geometrical construction, where the plane of the ground, plane of the sensor (which is supposed to be vertical) and plane of the lens should meet right below the tripod. For the values of f and h given, you will find a bit less of 1.5°.

Quote from: giulioz on June 16, 2015, 10:35:55 PMShall I focus at one third from the foreground or on the most distant object?

If you are doing that, you don't need any depth of field for the ground and you will find out that all points on the ground are in focus (close and far away). You will need depth of field for objects not in the plane of the ground (like the top of nearby trees, etc...), but this depends on each particular picture.