H5d-40 (with lens) or H4D-60 (no lens)

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark24173

Hi. This is either my first post or my first in a very long time.

I'm a pure amateur photographer (i.e. I don't make any money from photography), and I've found that I like cameras that are a bit different from the usual.

I'm also fortunate enough to live in Tokyo, where there are some majorly impressive used camera stores.

One such had two GAS-inducing models : an H5D-40 with an 80mm 2.8 lens, and an H4D-60 with no lens. The difference in price was around the price of (some) lenses which they had in store (the newer AF ones, not the old Zeiss-made ones).

Neither was remotely what you'd call cheap, but compared with what they must have cost when they were new, they are definitely cheap.

I've always been intrigued by shooting a digital Hasselblad, and I'm getting to the point where such a camera becomes financially feasible - relatively speaking.

My other cameras are also essentially base ISO cameras, so I'm not particularly interested in the latest ISO ten billion cameras.

I'd be interested in hearing which of these you would personally choose and why. All answers will be read with interest and appreciation! Before anyone recommends the XiD, which I am sure is superior in almost every metric, I've played around with one and it didn't do much for me. I'm more interested in a heavy beast of a low-ISO camera which imposes limits on me and tests my shooting technique.

PhotoKratky

I love my H4D-60 for the skin tones she produces and her huge sensor.

I hate her for producing error Messages every 300 shots and needing a complete disassembly of the camera to get started again.

And, yes, I'm sure that she is a she...

Can't speak for the H5D-40, never had one of those...

Conner999

I waffled as well between the H4-5 models and went with the H5D-40.

The H4D is a solid camera and I loved the idea of the larger sensor, but:

Tethering with the H5D is simplicity itself.