Corrupt FFF files - shooting to card on H3D39II

Previous topic - Next topic

Eoin

I'm just processing some images from a recent shoot and appear to have 6 corrupt files towards the end of the batch. I was shooting to card on a H3D39-II. The card was a brand new Sandisk ultra which had been formatted (on the camera) just before I started shooting.

The raw 3FR files were copied from the card to computer as normal using a card reader, then imported via the latest version of Phocus (2.6.1) - turning them into FFF files.

The interesting thing is that the thumbnail image on the 3FR file shows the image intact, with no corruption at all. This leads me to believe these shots may be salvageable.

See the attached examples for what I mean when I say corruption. This occurs in the FFF file and subsequently anything I export to - such as DNG, JPG, TIFF. As far as I'm aware 3FR is not a format which can be edited as is - so needs to be imported to Phocus first, before saving as another workable format such as those just mentioned - but perhaps I'm wrong on this?

Has anyone experienced similar issues with files when shooting to card on this system? I usually shoot tethered so have not encountered it before.

The only thing I can think of, which may have caused this in the first place, is the fact that I deleted some images on the camera as the shoot progressed (using the approval system - yellow dots) - which in turn may have lead to some file system error - but on a brand new, freshly formatted card? Seems like a major flaw if it is the case.

Any ideas greatly appreciated - I really don't want to lose a couple of these shots.

Here are two examples...

http://img695.imageshack.us/i/a0000547.jpg/
http://img860.imageshack.us/i/a0000570.jpg/

Thanks

HLArt