Upgrading from H3D-22

Previous topic - Next topic

FotografAndreas

Hi all!

I am currently thinking about upgrading from my H3D-22 to H4D-40 or 50.

What is the difference between these cameras regarding image quality (besides resolution)?

My current lenses are the 35, 80, 100 and 120.

I mostly shoot food and fashion in my studio and the occasional architectural work.

Greg

It is interesting that I also have the H3D22 with the 35, 80, 100, and 150.  One major difference between the two, according to another forum member, is that the 60 gives far less moire than the 22.  For me, a lot of fabric gives me moire with the 22, and I am not very good at getting rid of it with Phocus.  The resolution of the 22 is still pretty amazing and is good for most enlargements that anyone would need.  Making prints on my Epson 7880 gives me perfectly acceptable prints 24X36. 

The other differences are outlined in the specifications located on the Hasselblad website.  With the introduction of the new Phase One 80 mega pixel offering there is no telling where the mega pixel race will take finally take us.  In the watch business I'm told that anything above 17 jewels (as far as operating efficiency) is simply for show.  I kind of feel the same way about mega pixels above 22 even though I also own an H4D60.

Greg   

FotografAndreas

Thanks for your quick reply!

I also have problems with moire, and I often use the dual layers solution in PS.

And my 35 lens doesn´t really seem to work very well with the sensor of the H3D-22.

Greg: besides the obvious leap in resolution, what would you say were the biggest differences in image quality?

Dynamic range and color, etc?

What urged you to get the H4D-60? Was it your clients that demanded the extra megapixels?

Dustbak