Digital Back for 500 C/M

Previous topic - Next topic

jbphotographer

I could use some input on this, since I have no experience with medium format digital backs.

I have a 500 C/M, plus the 80mm and 150mm CF lenses, all about 20 years old.  From what I've been able to figure out, it looks like digital backs for the V Series cameras will work with the 500 C/M, is that correct?

Given that both my camera and lenses are fairly old technology, would they produce enough of an improvement in image quality (compared to current full frame 35mm format digital) to be worth the effort and expense (I'd probably start with a used back)?  I am ok with a totally manual camera, and don't have a need for auto-focus or fast shooting, and image quality is my primary concern.

This may be totally obvious, but many backs seem to be rectangular in format.  If this is the case, is there any way to use them in a vertical orientation on the 500C/M or does the whole camera have to be rotated sideways, and the viewdinder viwed from the side?

Thanks for any input or recommendations you might have!

Alastair Bird

Quote from: jbphotographer on October 29, 2010, 06:06:26 PM
I could use some input on this, since I have no experience with medium format digital backs.

I have a 500 C/M, plus the 80mm and 150mm CF lenses, all about 20 years old.  From what I've been able to figure out, it looks like digital backs for the V Series cameras will work with the 500 C/M, is that correct?

Given that both my camera and lenses are fairly old technology, would they produce enough of an improvement in image quality (compared to current full frame 35mm format digital) to be worth the effort and expense (I'd probably start with a used back)?  I am ok with a totally manual camera, and don't have a need for auto-focus or fast shooting, and image quality is my primary concern.