Thanks for the opportunity to participate Nick,

Great to see so much response.

CFV 39

Windows XP
Dual Core
4 Gb RAM

Performance 8
Reliability 9

Tethered 6 (a bit of a struggle - more the computer than a Phocus issue)

I am new to both digital Hasselblad and Phocus. I am in favour of all of the enhancements in Phocus 2. I use Phocus 2.0,  Light Room and Photoshop equally.

I would love to see more tips and training with Phocus 2.0

Comments on this survey may help me decide with my overdue computer upgrade.

Thanks Richard

David Grover

Quote from: Henry on March 06, 2010, 12:03:10 AM
MacPro mid-2009 2x 2.26 Quad core Xeon, Radeon HD 4870, 8GB RAM, 30" display, OSX 10.6.2

Phocus is pretty reliable with the occasional crash when opening newly imported files (50 MP camera), and speed is not really an issue in comparison to LR3 or Aperture 3, but to get auto lens etc corrections you do need Phocus.

One real bugbear is the way pictures look so unsharp until viewed at 100% which can really put customers off...... Usually I just use lens auto correct (all 3, esp. with the 28 and ot HTS1.5 - saves a ton of time elsewhere!), set white balance and black and white points before exporting as 16bit TIFF to do other work in LR3 or PS CS4.  More tools would be welcome, but getting sharpness on screen is a real priority (glad to see it's not just me with this issue - beginning to think it was my eyes!

Henry - in Phocus Prefs - What is 'Embedded Preview Size' set to?

Hywel

... even with embedded preview set to large, the previews are still unsharp if lens distortion corrections are turned on. (I think because it applies the distortion corrections to the preview JPEG, which isn't of adequate resolution to support this, and doesn't apply any sharpening after that step).