H4D-50 Tethered Issues

Previous topic - Next topic

Arild

Having shot with my beloved H4D-50 for years, I have now handed it in for service due to tethered shooting issues. I know many have mentioned troubles in tethered mode before, but I have not found details on this model and the issues I am experiencing exactly. I am posting this both to check whether someone else has had the same issue and managed to fix it, or for others who might be in the same situation as I am in now.

First off, the camera and back work fine while shooting directly to the CF card, but as a commercial photographer I need to be able to shoot tethered. Lately the issue while shooting tethered has increased and in desperation I handed it in for a service. Impatiently I am now waiting for how much this will end up costing. On the positive side, I was told it would most likely be taken care of within ten days. Up until now I have been very happy with the setup and an upgrade to the newest system is, at this point, not an option. Luckily I have a backup DSLR that is okay for now.

The computers I have tested tethered shooting on are all Macs of different generations and connections. They all have the latest version of Phocus and camera firmwares. Furthermore, I use the newest original FireWire 800-cable from Hasselblad. All the machines are loaded with SSDs and sufficient RAM. Phocus has been re-installed with full removal of preference files.

– Macbook Pro 15" (2017, 16Gb RAM, High Sierra) with USB-C and Thunderbolt adapter
– Mac Pro (late-2013, 16Gb RAM, High Sierra) with Thunderbolt adapter
– Macbook Pro 15" (mid-2009, 8Gb RAM, El Capitan) direct connection