New (to me) H3D and H3D-22 DB... can't get it to work!

Previous topic - Next topic

Djcoreyphoto

Hi all -

I'm brand new to Hasselblad... just purchased a used H3D from a camera store, and an H3D-22 DB from Adorama's used store.  Got a 100mm 2.2 lens, and I'm ready to go.

All arrived, I put a brand new CF card in it.  On connecting all the parts, I turned it on.  The hourglass does not stop moving.  The DB turns on, and the green light is on on the back.  I look through the viewfinder, and anytime I press the shutter button, I get the red triangle, and it says "Starting Up."  15 minutes later, the same thing.

I moved onto the digital back, and tried to format the CF card.  The window comes up, and it just says "Formatting Card..." and never leaves that window.

Not sure what to do!  I've tried disconnecting everything and putting back together.  Can anyone provide assistance?

Thanks!
Dan

DJPixelMan

Daft question but, did you disconnect the battery and reattach it?

NickT

Check that the contacts between back and body are clean/undamaged.
Nick-T typing at you from Flexframe's secret location under a Volcano

Djcoreyphoto

Not daft al all!  But I have done those things... :-[... hasn't worked yet.

DJPixelMan

OK. Another thing to try is a different CF card. Is the write speed too fast for the H3? I think that the speed of CF cards has increased dramatically since the H3 was introduced. Maybe it won't affect the camera, but sometimes it might. When I used my H3DII-30 I was using 60MB/s Sandisk Extreme 8 gb cards, and they were perfect. Try using an older card.
Secondly, have you got access to another lens just to try it out and see if that fixes the problem?

Charles S