Phocus mobile and wifi

Previous topic - Next topic

davidthescot

One of the most exciting things about the new H6D100C for me was live view using Phocus mobile i.e. untethered.  I was looking forward to using my iPad or iPhone as a remote trigger and viewer much as I use my laptop tethered but without all the wires and stuff.  I am not a computer expert but it was disappointing to find that, unlike the Sony wifi setup, I needed a wifi network to connect the camera to the iPad.  That meant having a wifi network wherever I wanted to shoot in this way.  My studio is in a barn and has no wifi and most locations are similar.  I always thought that wifi and the internet were indivisible  but that is not the case.

Using an old Apple Airport Extreme I set up a new wifi network without bothering with the internet or other network connection.  I had to do a hard reset of the Airport module before setting this up but once that was done it was easy to set up my new "photo net" and this can be done anywhere you have an existing wifi network and a Mac.  This Airport Extreme unit now provides me with a mobile solution that can be used on location (provided there is a power supply) or in my studio.  I can use my iPad instead of the laptop and all the wires - the only difference being that the images are saved as raw files on the cameras card with just a preview (but quite a good one) on the iPad.

No doubt other more technical photographers have already done this but some like me may have also struggled.  I understand also that there are battery powered wifi routers available at low cost which would enable similar connectivity in the open air.

If I have got this wrong and there is a simpler solution please let me know.

stephanbruehl

I hope I understand you right.
In the camera menu you can choose Network connection then you need a WiFi network, which of course you don't have in your barn or somewhere out in the landscape.